University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Logo

The University of Texas
Southwestern Medical Center

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

The Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center provides trauma care at Parkland Memorial Hospital in Dallas, Texas, a public county hospital operated by the Dallas County Hospital District. The facility is licensed for 990 beds and provides the majority of trauma care and un-sponsored health care for Dallas County, and for the Dallas metropolitan area. Parkland provides 911 emergency medical services for metropolitan Dallas, and serves as a Level I trauma center for Dallas County. Approximately 5,000 trauma patients are admitted yearly. Of these, approximately 2,400 are treated for orthopaedic injuries and undergo approximately 4,500 to 5,000 fracture repair procedures annually. The orthopaedic clinical staff, (all members of the faculty at UT Southwestern Medical Center) includes seven attending orthopaedic surgeons who have practices exclusively devoted to orthopaedic trauma, and thirty orthopaedic residents. Research efforts are supported by two full time research assistants and one full time research coordinator and grants manager. Ongoing clinical research efforts are funded by the Orthopaedic Trauma Association, AO North America and other industry sponsors. The department's Texas State Board approved orthopaedic trauma fellowship provides post-education in musculoskeletal trauma to 2-3 surgeons annually. UT Southwestern Medical Center's Department of Orthopaedic Surgery has 1800 square feet of laboratory space dedicated for basic orthopaedic research. The Center for Biostatistics and Clinical Sciences at UT Southwestern Medical Center employs four full time statisticians and is available to execute statistical analysis of research project data, and assist with planning and execution of clinical research projects.

Site Principal Investigator: Adam J. Starr, M.D.