jhsph logo small

Ellen MacKenzie, PhD

Professor and Chair
Health Policy and Management
Chair of the METRC Consortium


Ellen MacKenzie, PhD is the Fred and Julie Soper Professor and Chair of the Department of Health Policy and Management of the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. She is a graduate of the School of Public Health where she earned Master of Science and doctoral degrees in biostatistics. She joined the Hopkins faculty in 1980 and holds joint appointments in the School's Department of Biostatistics and with the departments of Emergency Medicine and Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. In addition to her faculty appointments, Dr. MacKenzie served as Senior Associate Dean at the School from 1996 to 2000 and Director of the Center for Injury Research and Policy from 1995-2005. Dr. MacKenzie completed a term as chair of the National Advisory Committee for Injury Prevention and Control and is currently President of the American Trauma Society. Dr. MacKenzie's research focuses on the impact of health services and policies on the short- and long-term consequences of traumatic injury, with a special emphasis on orthopaedic trauma outcomes research. She has contributed to the development and evaluation of tools for measuring both the severity and outcome of injury and her research has advanced our understanding of both the clinical and non-clinical factors that influence recovery post-injury. Dr. MacKenzie was Co-PI on the LEAP study and the ongoing METALS study. She was also PI on the National Study on the Costs and Outcomes of Trauma Care (NSCOT). Some of her more recent efforts include the development and evaluation of self management programs for survivors of serious trauma. Her awards include the A.J. Mirkin Service Award from the Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine, the Kappa Delta Award from the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (for the LEAP Study), Distinguished Career Awards from the American Public Health Association and the American Trauma Society, and the Trauma Leadership Award from the Society of Trauma Nurses. She is also an honorary fellow of the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma.